Can I start my own mini-vegetable garden in a 12' X 5' space in front of my house? If so how should I start?

unbelieveable

I have a nice space in front of my house that I would like to start planting vegetables and herbs in that I can use for cooking. I have never worked in or grown a garden before so I was wondering if some experienced gardeners can help me by giving me some tips on how to start....Thanx!

Keeratpal

yes u can plant them and then provide them urea means urin litttle once in a 4 days urea provides them nutrients which help them to grow well

Chelle

I have an 8'x4' garden box. Went to hardware store and got 2 12' boards and had them cut 4' off of each. Filled with top soil and compost. There is so much info on internet and library books on how to plant in small spaces. Depending where you live and how cold it gets, you might be able to start some seeds indoors right now. I like box gardens better so that I know what is in the dirt and less digging in clay type soils in this area. If you don't want to put the expense in boards and L shaped brackets to hold into a box, you might call a couple of your local nurseries to see if they do a free soil test to see what you need to add to the ground. Pick some seeds and then read when to plant and how much space they need. Draw it out on a sheet of paper how you can fit the most in. If you use a book to help, try to find one specifically for your state / location. Keep some notes so that you don't get overwhelmed and can refer back to them. Use popsicle sticks and write on them w/ permanent marker what was planted in each seed spot so you don't get mixed up with weeds.

Henry H

I agree with Chelle a raise bed looks nice any place you put it in your yard plant low growing plants and you can have fun and get some food good luck

saaanen